Quote

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived”

Henry David Thoreau

raus of light on the mountain tops

mountain light

So why did I come to the woods? For some peace and solitude?

To see what nature can teach me? So far I learned how important it is to bundle up, when it is below zero.

Taking care of some hardy horses every day.

To plan and prepare food for others.

To start the oven in the morning, although it is still dark and cold.

Simple things you need to do, because there is nobody else around to take care of things.

Today we hauled firewood, split it, so we can have another cozy fire tonight (while watching Monday night football via satellite TV). I guess that is part of the new way of “living in the woods”.

Nature #2

Quote