Winter Sun in the Alaska Range
Into the Wild

Amazing…

Just minutes from the warm fire place…

So many mountains around this lodge…

I hope one of these days to make it to the top of one these mountains. Many of the mountains have no name, they are in the 6000 to 7000 ft range. I suspect most of them have never been climbed by a human. Some just beg to be skied…

We had now 3 days in a row clear skies, temperatures below zero degrees Fahrenheit. The moon rises way past midnight, which makes for a pitch dark night sky. When I open the door it’s just like walking in a wall. Ice cold, dark. Not sure I can put this in words. The temperature gradient between the inside and the outside is more than 60 degrees. It takes my breath away stepping outside. A few days ago the moon light was so bright, we could see distant mountains sparkle. Now, it is dark, as if somebody had drawn the curtains. If we manage to brave the cold long enough and let our eyes adjust long enough we can the thousands of stars, and the Milky Way. Hidden are the surrounding mountains and hills.

Winter Sun

Calling for my ski tracks!

The morning sun will end the darkness. Mountain tops will glow for a few minutes. I stand in the window worshiping the sun rising above the horizon. A daily spectacle…

Standard