Inside Out

After 90 days…

in Alaska I came up with this adaptation of America’s song “A Horse with No Name”

On the first part of the journey
I was looking at all the life
There were willow, spruce and alder trees
There was snow and ice
The first thing I saw was a bear with a buzz
And the mountain with no clouds
The water was cold and the ground was wet
And the air was void of sound

I’ve been through Denali on a horse with no name
It felt good to be out in the rain
where you can remember your name
‘Cause there ain’t no one to give you no pain

After ten days in the Alaskan sun
My skin began to turn red
After thirty days in the midnight sun
I was looking at a river bed
And the story it told of a river that flowed
Made me sad to think he was dead

You see, I’ve been through Denali on a horse with no name
It felt good to be out in the rain
where you can remember your name
‘Cause there ain’t no one to give you no pain

After ninety days I let the horse run free
‘Cause the hills had turned to an orange sea
There were berries, black and blue
There were rivers to cross and mountains, too

Standard

2 thoughts on “After 90 days…

    • In many aspects the desert and the arctic are opposites, indeed. On the other hand, the remote, harsh and wild life here reminds me of the desert…

      I wish, one day I can write lyrics without a great template…

      Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

