One Man's Paradise

Life goes on…

It has been a rough couple of days. Loosing Major was a difficult experience.

Not to forget, but we shall move on.

Soul food, watching the spectacular opening of the Olympic Games diverted our thoughts for a while.

Out of curiosity we checked softservenews for Aurora activity. We had been searching the skies for the Northern Lights many months now without much luck. Many things need to fall in place: Clear skies, no moon, no clouds, and off course borealis activity. Last night everything came together.

Around midnight we walked out on the ice. No wind, -8°F, clear skies, increasing moon, and there it was.

Northern Lights above Rainy Pass Lodge

Moving curtains of mostly green light, waving, moving.

Then there were spikes and needles of green light shooting across the sky.

Lots of green, some yellow, some orange, maybe a hint of purple?

I did not expect the light show to be that lively.

Some movement was too fast to capture in detail. I was happy that my camera settings worked the way they were. Fiddling with the small knobs and dials in the cold and the dark is nearly impossible. I think that would be a great crowd sourcing project! A handy high quality camera that works in the cold and has nice big controls that can be operated in the dark…

I digress.

The Northern Lights were a nice gift to us after a stressful week in paradise. The Olympic opening ceremony was spectacular, the Northern Lights were majestic. No need to compare, just there to enjoy.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Life goes on…

  1. Anonymous says:

    If I were in your shoes and my horse had just died, seeing the Aurora would have been a love letter from God to me, letting me know that He cares 🙂 His timing is perfect in every way.

    I’m glad that we finally got to see our Aurora. Thanks for sharing it with all of us on your blog!

  2. Reblogged this on 907firesidetales and commented:
    T said it better than I could have and he has a better picture. I am learning that taking pictures in the dark and cold is not as easy as I once thought. I am hoping for a few more chances to capture this beautiful light show. It truly was an amazing experience, standing on the ice watching as the sky lit up and moved in curtains of colors.

Leave a Reply

