Inside Out

What’s on my mind?

A plane has disappeared in the ocean. All the Search & Rescue teams have found so far is floating garbage in size larger than Texas. Global warming forecasts are becoming more dire and very little action is taken by our governments. I know this is a highly polarized topic with little or no middle ground. So why bother writing about it? Hasn’t it all been said and disputed already? Maybe.

I don’t know much about biology or meteorology but I believe this planet cannot sustain an exponentially growing world population. It’s that simple. I think our politicians, economists, philosophers, religious and spiritual leaders need to come up with a plan that does not include exponential growth in our future.

Maybe we forget sometimes that Earth is not an infinite, open system, that can provide food and water for an unlimited number of people, and serve as a garbage dump at the same time.

What is the number of people Earth can sustain? I don’t know.
How much fossil fuel do we have? I don’t know.

What happens, when we run out of that energy source? I don’t know.

If a scientist had the answers, would we believe and act accordingly?

I don’t know. I think not.

Standard

Leave a Reply

