Inside Out

Now

“Realize deeply that the present moment is all you have. Make the now the primary focus of your life.”

Eckhart Tolle

wavesHours away from my return to the real world a somber mood has captured me. It is easy to come up with a handful of reasons for my self-inflicted misery. All of them have to do with the past or the future. No wonder I am not happy. To miss what I cannot have right now creates a conflict in me. Something inside me fights the present moment, which is painful.

After listening to a few words by Eckhart Tolle it became clear that I cannot revel in the most recent past, think about the uncertainties of the future and forget about the moment. Every moment I breathe and live deserves my gratitude. To be mindful of the presence is such a simple and powerful concept.

I don’t understand why it is so difficult to put into practice sometimes.

Do you?

Standard

3 thoughts on “Now

  1. You should read some Basho or Issa, their whole lives were dedicated to living in the moment and writing poems to try and capture it. Living in the moment is a fundamental part of Zen Buddhism. being unable to live in the moment is one of our major flaws as humans and leads to much of our self imposed misery.

    • Thank you for the reading suggestions. My problem is not the lack of reading or “understanding”. In critical moments it seems hard to apply the theory. It seems something that requires constant work.
      Thanks for the comment.

  2. I think maybe Carl has the right idea (in his comment above).

    If I’m having trouble living in the Moment (as my health issues demand), I watch my favourite DVD … ‘ Amongst White Clouds’ about Buddhist Hermit Masters in China’s Zhongnan Mountains. Believe it or not, a simple DVD such as this, is enough to re-direct my thoughts back to the present. Gosh, I must have watched this documentary 50 times (or more). It speaks to me so directly (now that my eyesight is struggling with many of my books). Its also a form of escapism from inner city living.

Leave a Reply

