One Man's Paradise

Inspiration

In the last 2 weeks I have been surrounded by photographers and guests that want to learn about photography. Cruising the Inside Passage, taking pictures during the day, and talking about art, nature and history in the evening was an inspiration.

I thought inspiration, the drive to create something, comes from within. Maybe some people have it, some don’t? To be an artist you need inspiration, from within, at least that’s what I thought until today.

Now, I am wondering. There were many external stimuli in my life lately that led me to look at things in a different way. I will share some of the images that came from this in the coming weeks.

Apparently, Pablo Picasso said “Good artists copy, great artists steal”. This would support the idea that external stimuli are part of the creative process. This is good to know. Study the works of others and walk the world with open eyes, that’s what I will do in the coming weeks.

For today, it’s a shot of a piece of wood trapped between rocks in a waterfall. Can you feel the cool air? Hear the gushing water? The subject and the concept were copied from Joe Ordonez.

Sorry Joe, you are a great inspiration.

treetrunk

Southeast Alaska has presented itself in a beautiful light. There were misty, rainy days. Spring is in full swing in the valleys, whereas the mountains are still hanging on to their snow and ice fields. Tender green leaves, a few wild flowers make their first appearances. Cottonwoods leave a sweet smell in the air and the birds are going crazy in the morning.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. Superb.

    I find many photographer’s images of water are taken at too low a shutter speed (in my view). All they show are strands of silken lines. Or much too much like fluffy cotton wood balls.
    I much prefer your own image (above) in which the shutter speed is slightly faster and you get that sensation of speed and force. But that’s just a personal preference.

    I took a tripod over to the Royal Botanic Gardens near my old home one day for the explicit purpose of photographing a tiny waterfall, (or drop in the water course), at varying shutter speeds to see which speed produced my chosen final result. It was fun. As an amateur and beginner at the time, it was something I needed to experiment with. Gosh, even now I could do with a little more practice at photographing water flow.

    I look forward to seeing some of what inspires you to look at the world differently through the camera lens.

    • Thank you Vicki, great response. After watching a few masters at work I believe there is a sweet spot for every waterfall, where you capture the speed, power, and beauty of the raging water. It’s never the same and depends on the amount of water, the speed, the light, how close you are to the water and many other factors. I believe with experience you can get to that sweet spot faster, but in the end even the pros experiment with that shutter speed. I have an idea how to get that fluffy haze and a few water drops in focus in one shot. I will report on the results.

  2. Please do (report and post some examples).
    I, for one, would really appreciate your experience and sample shots.

    My (newish) mirrorless camera seems to take a relatively sharper focused image at slower shutter speeds than my DSLR, so I’m keen to try it out on the nearby weir I spotted downriver a couple of weeks ago. The fall of water is only about 2-3 feet (at most) from what I could see at the distance I was standing, but it might prove to be a good place to practice (when I get rid of this tedious sciatic pain, that is). There was a construction fence hindering me from getting closer.

    I need to find a place where I can get down to the rocks and river water’s edge near my new home too. It’s a bit steep to try and clamber down with a camera etc. I’m a little clumsy and stiff and my walking shoes don’t have a really good grip on a wet grassy sloping bank now Autumn is here and we’re getting more rain.

Leave a Reply

