Note to self

In a different light

“Everything you can imagine is real.”

Pablo Picasso


Traveling near White Pass Summit in British Columbia on a strangely sunny day.

This image was taken with an IR camera, courtesy of Jim Ashcraft.

Sony NEX-7, converted to IR, ISO 12800, 1/4000, f/16

Thank you for letting me play with your camera.

Always chasing the different look, I attempt to see familiar scenes with different eyes. In photography there are a number of approaches that can give your image a fresh look. Visit a particular location at different times, in all seasons, change your viewpoint, take your images with different lenses, vary your settings… Now, an infrared camera gives you a whole new set of eyes. Instead of the visible spectrum, you see the world according to its temperature. To make this world visible to our eyes, magic electronics convert heat into gray tones or false colors. Jim’s camera does the gray scale conversion and boy does it do a great job.

What’s your way to keep a fresh look on things in photography (and real life)?

Standard

8 thoughts on “In a different light

  1. What a lovely image. This would be stunning framed. Real life: doing a double take on automatic thoughts, considering multiple perspectives. In photography, experimenting outside of my comfort zone. Occasionally it works 🙂

  2. Yes, definitely a stunning image.

    Visiting a new location – something I haven’t done much of recently, what with moving and back surgery (in answer to your question).

    When the warmer weather comes, just visiting new locations at different times of the day should inspire me. I have to be honest and say, this year I have felt my photography has been getting a bit stale and repetitive. I sometimes think I have made too many photos in the same old locations and mentally, I feel in a bit of a photography rut.

    As I tend to do photography wherever I happen to go on an afternoon walk, it’s more about the exercise and fresh air.

    I really aught to go somewhere very specific and focus on just one subject for a few hours and force myself to mentally ‘think outside the box’ in angles and exposure. I really aught to learn more about capturing very different light conditions (I say to myself) as I nearly always walk at the mid to latter time of the afternoon.

    • Vicki, thank you for taking the time and reflecting. When I get a response like yours that goes beyond the quick “Like: button I feel like my writing or photography have connected. That’s the purpose of my blog. Thank you!
      Being surrounded by photographers this year on a daily basis has helped me to get of my old tracks. Seeing their approach and their images has helped me to open my eyes in places that I have visited and photographed a hundred times.

  3. Interesting point you make about being surrounded by Photographers this year. In the last 5 months in my new apartment location, I never see other photographers – I always did before. I never stop for quick chats about gear, subject or light – particularly lenses for bird photography. I miss it. If I had a car, better health (i.e. could walk faster) and so on, I would think it’s about this time I should join a photography club (to find some kindred spirits), but the reality is…….I find it hard to take photos unless I’m on my own and can go at my own pace. I’m too solitary to truly enjoy the company of others for any length of time.

    I can well appreciate your words about seeing the approach and images of others. A photographer I admired offered to take me on an afternoon walk once, but we tended to chat far too much and I ended up not taking any photos at all (believe it or not) and not stopping for long enough to appreciate the individual aspects of the scene before us.

    I love that time to admire a view and see the texture of the tree bark or the ripple of the water or observe the movement of birds. I like to see the way their wings outstretch in flight or the way ducks preen their feathers. It’s those individual observations that bring just as much enjoyment (as reviewing images on the computer and choosing one to share online). My best friends, who I see rarely these days), spend their retirement bushwalking and mountain climbing both here in Australia and overseas. I can barely walk up a steep slope without breathlessness and chest pain with a heart condition. I am constantly torn between the love of the outdoors and travel in my youth and the reality of chronic ill health in enforced retirement.

    I enjoy your photos of your mushing job in particular. You’ve made some images of the dogs and landscape that truly bring Alaska alive for me. Not everyone can capture this in a photo. When your images ‘breathe’ and come alive, then Nature Photography is at its best.

    • Thank you. I very much appreciate you taking the time responding. Life is what we make out of it (note to self). Keep up the good spirits. The past is gone and the future has not arrived, yet.

Leave a Reply

