One Man's Paradise

Errands

Arriving at Puntilla Lake

Iditarod Trail Invitational

Had to go to the store today and watch the Superbowl in my favorite dive. Didn’t feel like driving, so I bundled up, got my bike out and rode to town. 12 mile round trip, 6 inches of snow on the road. I met one snow machine rider, three trucks, and one skier. Home in the dark with head lights. Beautiful, quiet ride with no wind, just around freezing.

21 days until the 2016 Iditarod Trail Invitational, the longest winter ultra marathon by fat bike, foot and ski and following the historic Iditarod Trail. The short race is 350 miles, the big boys and girls go all the way to Nome for about 1000 miles. Me? No I am not going, hoping to put in some turns in the local pow, if you get my drift.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Errands

  1. DOUBLE AWESOME – gosh, you must be fit. Is it hard to ride in the snow/ice? Seriously, I can’t quite imagine it although the fatter tyres must have good traction.

    (Your post just reminded me……..I vaguely remember gong to the bike races on ice in St Johann im Pongau in Austria in Jan 1978. That was a thrilling experience as a spectator. The motorbikes had spikes on the wheels and I couldn’t bear the thought of someone crashing or sliding out of control. My friends and I quickly moved up to a small hill of graded snow to watch from a safer and better vantage point).

Leave a Reply

