Life

Compassion

heart.jpg


I am trying to read a book on the Dalai Lama’s Vision for Our World by Daniel Goleman. It’s not going very well…

Though I found a few nuggets early on.

One of the Dalai Lama’s morning routine is to listen to the BBC. Goleman writes: “The BBC’s litany of human injustices and sufferings has led him to the insight that most tragedies are the result of a single deficiency: a lack of compassionate moral responsibility.”

“Today’s news echoes last year’s, last decade’s, last century’s”

As an escape from this vicious cycle the Dalai Lama sees one solution: the creation of a force for good.

If you want to understand what this means you have to read the rest of the book, although it is not an easy read. I wish the Dalai Lama had written the book himself, as his introduction is brilliant and concise.

“As a human being I acknowledge that my well-being depends on others and caring for others’ well being is a moral responsibility¬† I take seriously.”

Dalai Lama

Standard

2 thoughts on “Compassion

  1. I have/had 2 of Daniel Goleman’s books and I’m embarrassed to admit I haven’t read either. I started them and never got much further than the first chapter (although I had scanned the contents page before buying so I knew the subject matter was one I was interested in).
    Perhaps the Dalai Lama is more concise as the busyness of his life and many speaking commitments has taught him how to convey deep meaning with few words. I have at least 5-6 of his books (off the top of my head) and have read them all.

Leave a Reply

