Quote

Moonlight

Rainbow Glacier in Moonlight

Rainbow Glacier in Moonlight

“The true joy of a moonlit night is something we no longer understand. Only the men of old, when there were no lights, could understand the true joy of a moonlit night.”

Yasunari Kawabata


It took a partially cloudy night, a full moon, and a brief power outage to realize the beauty of a moonlit night. Many nights have been filled with darkness and humidity in all shapes and degrees. Clouds, rain, and snow obscured the million dollar views, or the lack of ambient light just  kept everything in the dark. Having the lights on in the house also does not help, since my eyes are not adapted to see what’s going on outside.

So, a little hiccup in our power facility let the lights go out, which is a bit unsettling at first, since you never know how long it will last, and I never can remember where I left my flashlight last.

After a while my eyes adapt and I see a faint shimmering light outside. What is that?

A patch in the night sky opens up. The moonlight hits the mountain range across from my house and is reflected back into the clouds hovering above the mountain tops.

There are moony(?) and shady sides, almost like during the day. Except, I can see stars flicker in the sky.

I manage to setup my camera, put everything in manual mode and 10 seconds later I have “Rainbow Glacier in Moonlight”.

15 minute later the power comes back on and I don’t have to worry that my salmon in the freezer will go back, the water pump will stop and my pipes will burst, and most importantly the internet goes down and I cannot share this magic moment.

Thank you AP&T.

Yasunari Kawabata received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1968 and committed suicide in 1972. It took him 13 years to write one of his novels “Snow Country”, which plays in a hot spring resort in the West of Japan, one of the snowiest places on Earth.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Moonlight

  1. If it makes you feel any better, my power went out at 10.35pm tonight and back on 10 mins later. This is the 3rd time in the 4 months I’ve lived here, but this time, I knew my LCD torch was in my little backpack next to my chair. Last time the power was out for 3 hours and I forgot I had a new torch sitting in my backpack.

    I’m thinking of buying a ‘camping’ lantern/light (to live in a modern newish inner suburban apartment building) 🙂 Well…….at least we’ve only had 2 fire alarms in this building – I had 6 and had to walk down 8 flights of stairs in my previous apartment over a 20mth period.

    Oh the joys of inner city living.

  2. A truly memorable image! I, too, love the night sky up here as unless one is close to a town or city there is almost no light pollution. I still remember seeing almost no stars in the night skies in SE Michigan, south central Wisconsin, SW Ohio and the Chicago area which are a few of the places I lived. I’m still learning to deal with the extended light of our summers as I truly pine for the dark night skies from May through August…

Leave a Reply

