One Man's Paradise

Moonlight – № 2

I am ready. I am done with darkness. Let there be sunshine and frigging colors. I knew this time would come. Cabin fever, winter blues, seasonal affective disorder…


“The longest way must have its close –
the gloomiest night
will wear on to a morning.”

Harriet Beecher Stowe


I would not want to miss the experience of a silent night on the lake under a full moon. So bright you could read a book. Walking on the lake, with snow that would creak like Styrofoam. A curious red fox joining me on my midnight excursion. The strange whooping sound of ice cracking under pressure. That and backcountry skiing in pristine powder. Those are my favorite memories of winter in the north…

Wait a minute. There is more. The beautiful subtle colors of winter, the northern lights, cookies and hot chocolate, the holidays…

Not so bad after all. I think I can take another 6 weeks of winter…


Moonlight over Puntilla Lake, Alaska
Standard

One thought on “Moonlight – № 2

  1. Not long to go now……that’s what I keep saying to myself every day the heat is unbearable on my side of the world. Rain for the next 2 days so hopefully much cooler 🙂

Leave a Reply

